top of page

Christmas Candles

The holidays can be tough for us twenty-something year olds. Chances are, you are either broke, or you're spending your money on other necessities such as groceries or student loans. My gal pal Camille stumbled upon a unique idea just in time for the holidays for us to try. But not only unique. Quite easy, and affordable! So cheers to Camille, as I share with all of you gearing up for the holidays this candle experiment I tried and succeeded:

The ingredients:

This recipe is to fill 1 medium to larger mason jar. I opted out for the glass and swung by a Goodwill over Thanksgiving weekend. I got these 4 for my first batch for around $4. I repeated the process 2x.

4 cups of soy wax (which I bought with Amazon Prime)

1 candle wick 1/2 teaspoon of essential oils of your choice (for this first batch, I mixed together 25 drops of lemongrass, 25 drops of lavender, and about 12 drops of orange)

5 milliliters of candle dye (I did not utilize this)

A pen or clothespin

The process:

1. Fill a glass measuring cup with 2 cups of soy wax

2. Place the measuring cup inside a large pot on the stove

3. Fill the pot 3/4 full of water

4. Allow the water to boil, wax to melt, and be sure to stir occasionally

5. Pour an additional 2 cups of dry wax into the previously melted wax. Wait for it to melt.

6. Remove glass measuring cup from boiling water

PSA: I used a glass bowl, and it got MESSY. Another set of hands will definitely make a difference.

7. Add the essential oil mixture and the candle dye into the melted wax. Stir. 8. Pull candle wick through the pen cap to secure and place inside the mason jar.

This is where I used a clothespin instead.

9. Carefully pour the wax into the mason jar. Allow it to drive overnight.

Again, be careful! V hot, and v messy. 10. Cut the wick and light that baby up!

For the following batches with my left over soy, I plan to add-in some organics like lavender or coffee beans. I finished each of these off with some twine and a hand-crafted label for the recipients (they aren't pictured here because some of my readers just may be receiving one of these handmade goodies this Christmas.)

xx,

bottom of page