top of page

Impromptu Bar Crawl

Tell me, fellow Buffalonians, exactly what season is it? One day I am walking out into a blizzard, while the next a light, spring jacket will do. This hybrid season has got to go. Amid this weather, we were able to squeeze in a half-decent Saturday a few weeks back. A Saturday that was alive and well in downtown Buffalo as it hosted the Shamrock Run. While this post should reflect my participation in the marathon, it instead discusses the bar crawl we created in the heart of it.

FIRST STOP ROOST

Review: Roost is located on (the up-and-coming) Niagara Street. It's your typical "trendy" restaurant, with some fresh, eclectic interior design. Our brunch was easily an A+. I cannot get over how perfected each of our dishes were. Marissa ordered the Lemon Blueberry Waffles, while Jodi and myself ordered the Breakfast Pizza. The food was top notch, however, also top price. It was certainly one of the more expensive restaurants we have attended as of recent, but the menu was too diverse to pass up.

Rating: 7.5. The brunch cocktails were nothing special, and I will say our final bill was pretty generous. Despite those considerations, I cannot get over the uniqueness of each dish. I had zero complaints on the quality of the food (and should I add, quantity of slices).

Review: Lockhouse is apart of Buffalo's Cobblestone District. A district with an extensive history, Lockhouse being no exception. It was the first distillery to operate in Buffalo prior to the prohibition. We popped in for a round of cocktails, and they left us buzzin'. Marissa enjoyed their Moscow Mule which is offered on tap, Jodi the traditional Rum and Coke, Lauren braved the Not Your Basic Vodka Cran (which yes, included an egg white), and I went for something totally out of my comfort zone: The Hall Pass. (The Hall Pass is made up of Lockhouse Barreled Gin, Absinthe, and Orange Bitters.) This is a drink made for sipping, which is something I'm not normally accustomed to. It had a kick, but an oddly enjoyable one.

Rating: 8.0. The small "garage" style space is inviting, and very casual. Ideal for a number of different occasions, any of which that call for a perfected craft cocktail. They also offer snack and sandwich style food. I will be sure to test out that menu the next time I stop in, hopefully to catch the next live band.

THIRD STOP BALLYHOO Review: Always a neighborhood favorite. Time and time again, the friendly staff, delicious links, and uncommon beverage selection provide the perfect fix. We snacked on some ice cream sandwiches to pair with our final round of cocktails. Morgan and Marissa took part in the Jam Session which consists of your choice of jam preserve, followed by your choice of spirit. An odd concept, but an absolutely delicious one at that. Jodi and I stuck to the standards with her Mai Tai and my Corpse Reviver #2. (See, I told you, we are ready for some nicer weather.)

Rating: 9.0. As I mentioned above, Ballyhoo always offers an exceptional experience. I appreciate all that they have to offer because it's a significant step up from your typical beer and burger at a dive bar. The energy is always positive, and you can usually leave having made a new acquaintance or two. If the Jam Session intimidates you, do not knock it until you try it. Trust me!

Traveling to each of these locations (by car, or foot,) will take you about a day, and run you around the sweet spot of $50.00. Rain or shine, get on over to downtown Buffalo to have yourselves a DAY! You deserve it (or at least that is what we tell ourselves each time we splurge on booze and brunch).

xx,

bottom of page