top of page

Fitness Alternatives

Long time no see, folks! Today I'm sharing fitness alternatives in Buffalo, New York. The weather is getting warmer, and my indoor-gym routine is becoming less and less motivating. Instead, I've gathered some other classes and events that I encourage you all to attend with me this summer:

A couple of months back, I attended a "Partner Yoga" class. Yoga is a workout that continues to challenge me, as I often doubt my flexible capabilities. With that being said, I thoroughly enjoyed partner yoga. Having Camille there as a base allowed me to stretch right out of my comfort zone. Love in Motion Yoga studio offers many different class-based packages, in addition to many unique events and workshops for everyone from beginner to pro. You can even treat yourself on your way out to a Kombucha from Bootleg Bucha, or a beer at Resurgence Brewing Company!

Groupon, the holy grail my friends! Taylor and I came across a local silks class in the Elmwood village, and were able to give it a try at a very affordable price. If you aren't familiar with silks, it is often associated with the circus, acrobatics, and gymnastics. The class was intimidating, and certainly unlike anything we have ever tried before. Although silks was an enjoyable experience, it is a type of class I probably won't attend regularly. However, UP Aerial Fitness also offers many different class-based packages for classes in aerial, cirque, yoga, and barre.

Just Simply Walking

Living in North Buffalo has its perks. We are steps away from Delaware Park, Hoyt Lake, Hertel Avenue, and everything in between. While hiking seems to be quite a fad in 2018, it is not always practical in the middle of the week after a long day at work. Instead, we walk. The concept of walking is such a treat - to just take a stroll through your neighborhood to explore what there is around you. Walking offers a relaxing way to get in your steps with good friends (and throwing in an ice cream cone for good measure doesn't hurt, either).

Other Facilities / Classes / Activities I am looking forward to trying this summer:

1. Class Sessions at Sweat 716 - First class is free.

2. Lunchtime Yoga at Raw Renewal Yoga - New client special for 2 weeks unlimited for $30.

3. After work Fitness at Canalside - A series of free fitness classes Monday - Friday, right on the water. 4. Cardio and Strength at [Sweat] Society - First two classes are free until June 1st.

5. Utilizing the MINDBODY App - To find even more local deals and steals from everything fitness to beauty.

Cheers to making an effort to maintain a healthy lifestyle this summer despite all of the hot dogs and beer we are gearing up to consume!

xx,

bottom of page